30 comments on “The miracle of friendship…

  1. Darrel, what you did and what you wrote means more than you know. I know I am not here often but when I am here I really do my best to encourage you, so I feel honored that you have included me on your list of “friends”. I know all about depression only too well. My husband suffers from depression but he is making some really bad choices and just about willing himself into illness and death. It is terrible to witness and unable to do anything. Yes, I have tried to reach out to help him years and years worth, but deep down inside he does not want help nor does he want to be happy. So I’ve stepped back and just am allowing what IS to transpire. He is just so tortured from the war yet he just will not allow healing. Again he is making the choices.
    I’m truly sorry you are living in a blah land because of pills, but that is exactly what anti-depressants do. I’m SO happy for you that you are finding your emotions through writing!! Good for you! Keep on writing!!! What you have written has been awesome! I mean it, Darrel! BIG (((HUGS))) and lots of kisses too!!! Amy ❤

    • What is all this? It’s like I woke up, and it’s Christmas! It’s a good thing I have my PJ’s on, or I would be powerless! I am so sorry your husband suffers from PTSD! War is a terrible thing to be involved with… Your accounting really brought tears to my eyes! I know you both must have ssuffered through much! You are an incrediblly strong woman though! And if you ever decide to give it another go, I just hope my testimony will be in some way useful to you. I plan to write that today! You have a great blog and have been the light of my life; I remember a whole list of long comments from you. One letter, I have saved to read over and over again because it has been so instrumental in my success. Just things about myself I was unaware of that helpped to change me. That’s all 🙂

  2. Darrel, you have me speechless honestly. I visited as soon as I saw your gravatar because I know it’s been a while since my last visit and I meet this post. You humble me with your words. There’s power in words and what you are doing speaks far beyond what you can imagine. I believe that you can be a voice to many who can’t decipher how to approach the challenges that they are experiencing with depression. Thank you for finding me worth calling a friend. I sincerely appreciate this. Blessings and peace to you. Jacqueline

    • I believe deeply in the sincerity and warmth with which you approach people! I haven’t seen it in someone to this extent for a long time, and I find it quite refreshing. Plus your words are filled with ssuch wisdom on your blog, I am literally spellbound there! I know you are beginning to sense people have a great attraction to you Jaqueline! And I’m possative your blog will become a huge success! Thank you for being you! A better friend I could not find. Don’t be surprised if I need to count on you for a little advice sometime… May the wind always be at your back! Your loyal subject: D xOx

  3. Reblogged this on a cooking pot and twistedtales and commented:
    The miracle of friendship happens in great ways even though they may seem small. When we speak to others, we have no idea how much life our words carry and mean. This post is the best that I have read today. It was least expected that I should see my name in a post such as this and not only am I humbled by Darrel’s words, but I am humbled to think that my words can make a difference enough for this lovely person to count me as a worthy friend.
    Depression is an ailment that is not too well understood and it is a silent killer. It’s never an easy burden to bear on those who suffer from it.

    • Yes! Words can be daggers, or, they can save our lives; truly then, ‘The pen is mightier than the sword!’ This power to speak is so valued that men will, and have died for it! It’s good you should stand up for this. Your words make a great difference in my life! They bring some sanity to me, and sanity can pull entire countries together Jaqueline; not just me! So your words reach many! This reblog will help me… Now how might I thank you? I’m gonna try this and see if it works? Thank you!

  4. Reblogged this on Knotholes and Textures and commented:
    My depression has been pretty bad this last week, partly because of my fibromyalgia and the weather, and I had made up my mind last night to quit blogging. I was feeling overwhelmed, thinking I had bitten off more than I could chew with the A to Z Blogging Challenge, and feeling like it just wasn’t helping me in any way. Then a link to this post showed up through Jacquelyn at http://acookingpotandtwistedtales.com/. Darrel’s message hit home. I feel like God is telling me not to quit. So I’m going to be around for a while.

    • I am overwhelmed! I’ve never heard such a joyous testimony! It has brought great happiness to me! Funny you should mention challenges… I got chewed out once for begging to be in one! LOL! Yes! When you’ve completed it, they do bring in more followers. People just love them, and I’m sure you’ll do just fine! Fake enjoying it, and eventually you’ll believe yourself! Thank you for a wonderful comment I sshall cherish always! You made my day, and you gained a friend 😉

  5. Reblogged on Knotholes and Textures.

    I found this post through Jacquelyn’s reblog and it couldn’t have shown up at a better time. My depression has gotten the better of me this last week and I had decided last night that I was just going to quit blogging. Finding the link to this post today feels like God is telling me not to quit. Thank you so much for sharing.

  6. Pingback: For the dude over at My Opinionsville.

  7. You can’t be far from the truth. This wordpress family is amazing. jacquelineobyikocha, you are indeed exeptional, your light and grace breaks through me every time I read your writings.

  8. You are so sweet Darryl, i’m finally getting a chance today to play catchup and lo and behold, to what to my wondering eyes do appear, but plain old Darryl sweetness. Thanks so much my friend, stay warm, here you’re in for another april fool blast of cool….brrrrr….sending sunshine and smiles 🙂 K

Leave a Reply

